WHERE:

UNT Physics Building, Room 102. Reception at the Avesta Restaurant in the UNT Union.

WHEN:

August 23rd from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm.

PROGRAM:

8:30-9.00 AM: RECEPTION AND COFFEE

9:00 AM: **Jingbiao Cui** (Physics, UNT) Welcome address

9.10 AM: Oliviero Andreussi (Physics, UNT) "UNT HACKATHON: summary and perspectives"

9:35 AM: **Tom Cundari** (Chemistry, UNT) "New Strategies for an Old Problem: Methane Activation"

10:00 AM: **Michele Pavanello** (Physics, Rutgers) "Density Embedding Methods for the Condensed Phase"

10:25 AM: COFFEE BREAK

10:40 AM: Jason Goodpaster (Chem., Minnesota) "Quantum embedding and machine learning for complicated electronic structure systems"

11:10 AM: **Kyeongjae (KJ) Cho** (Materials, UTD) "TDDFT Modeling of Electron-Enhanced Atomic Layer Deposition"

11:40 AM: **Sehr Naseem Khan** (Chemistry, UNT) "Water: Only three atoms but a challenge for polarizable force field developers"

12:00 PM: **Jagoda Slawinska** (Physics, UNT) "Tuning of spin Hall effect in two-dimensional monochalcogenides"

12:20 PM: LUNCH @ AVESTA

1:20 PM: **Hao Yan** (Chemistry, UNT) "Computational chemistry under extreme mechanical conditions"

1:50 PM: **Muhammad Huda** (Physics, UTA) "Formation of polarons, their electronic structures and effects in metal-oxide-photoelectrocatalysts"

2:20 PM: **Jincheng Du** (Materials, UNT) "Glass genome: from atomistic simulations to QSPR analysis of inorganic glasses"

2:50 PM: Andrew Baczewski (Sandia) "X-ray Thomson scattering in warm dense matter using time-dependent density functional theory"

3:15 PM: COFFEE BREAK

3:30 PM: **Elfi Kraka** (Chemistry, SMU) "Solving Chemical Problems on SMU's High-Performance Computer ManeFrame II"

4:00 PM: **Kwangho Nam** (Chemistry, UTA) "Chemo-Mechanical Coupling of F1-ATPase: Insights from Molecular Simulations"

4:30 PM: **Qiming Zhang** (Physics, UTA) "Tunable piezoelectricity of the alkali niobatebased ceramics"

FUNDING:

We are grateful to Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU), UNT Department of Physics, UNT College of Science, UNT Office of Research and Innovation, and the National Science Foundation for funding.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

Oliviero Andreussi, G. Andrés Cisneros, Marco Buongiorno Nardelli





